We are a church family where people can find a spiritual home, where we can be healed and released into our calling.

you are always welcome

Who We are

OIKOS 

Oikos is a Greek word, meaning ‘house’ or ‘family’. We are a church family where people can find a spiritual home, where we can be healed and released into our calling. We believe that being transparent with one another and embracing each other’s strengths, as well as weaknesses, creates unity. We do this because we live by His grace and not through performance.

INTERNATIONAL 

Oikos is represented by over 20 nations. We are greatly enriched by the unity, which reaches beyond national and cultural borders. This diversity is emphasized by visits from guest speakers from all over the world. Services are in English and German and we provide other translations according to the need. 

 

CHURCH 

We are an evangelical free church associated with the federation of Swiss Evangelical Alliance (SEA). The redemptive work of Jesus Christ on the cross is the basis of our profession of faith.  

Need Prayer? We’ll Pray For You!

What We Believe

The Creed:

“I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.

I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come to judge the living and the dead.

I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy Church worldwide,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting.
Amen.”

Leadership

Our Senior Pastors

Pastors Larwin and Silvia Nickelson

Larwin and Silvia are the founders of Oikos International Church.

Larwin is a Swiss national of Indian origin. In 1981 he graduated from Bible College in Seattle, Washington (USA) where he was also ordained as a pastor.

Silvia is Swiss and met Larwin in India in 1983, where they were married and lived for a few years, helping Larwin’s father in the ministry of church planting. In 1990 they moved to Basel and started to build churches in Switzerland.

Larwin founded the Oikos Tamil Church which ministers to the Tamil population in different cantons.

Larwin and Silvia are parents of 3 adult children and grandparents of 2 grandchildren.
Michaela & Andy Meier
Andy and Michaela both have a burning desire to see individuals, the church, the city, and the nation touched, healed and transformed by the presence of God. Both enjoy teaching, preaching, and encouraging in order to strengthen the body of Christ.

Michaela is also involved in church administration and organisation, and likes interpreting.

As the leader of a home association, Andy has a special call for leaders in Switzerland.
Mandy & Keith Muckett
Originally from the UK, Keith and Mandy have been part of the Oikos family since 2001. Mandy is an author and encourager with a heart for women and is also a leader of the Saphira women’s Ministry.

Keith leads the James 1 men’s group and the Media Ministry, as well as seeing the workplace as his main mission field.

Married over 30 years they have a desire to see marriages healed and run courses on the topic of ‘Growing Sexual Intimacy in Marriage’.
Dirk and Eszter Stöhr
Dirk and Eszter have supported the church leadership in the background for years. In addition, they invest themselves in worship, children’s ministry and a combination of both.

Our Vision

REVIVAL
We long to have God’s glory in our midst. As bearers of His presence, the world shall experience His love through us.

TRANSFORMATION

In unity we desire to seek God’s will and God’s presence in all that we do as a church. We want to allow God to grow people into maturity of faith and character – from orphans to sons – from sons to fathers.

We understand our calling as an apostolic church that is part of the global move of God upon the earth. God is building His church through many different vessels and ministries, one of which is the local church. We also have a desire to see God sending revival to Switzerland, especially the “Dreiländereck”, and that God will once again pour out His Spirit on “all flesh”, as promised in the Bible.

Knowing that we cannot fulfil this vision as a single congregation, we founded Stiftung b/e/t/e in 2004, in order to carry this vision beyond the local church. Together with the larger body of Christ, we desire to form a vessel where we can hold annual conferences and prayer gatherings so that God may reveal to us His heart for unity, transformation and revival in our nations.

PROPHETIC STORYLINE

Over decades of seeking God’s guidance as a local church we always welcomed prophetic words from the Lord, as it says in 2. Peter 1,19

“And so we have the prophetic word confirmed, which you do well to heed as a light that shines in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts”

In June 2018 God spoke a word of prophecy over our church through Joanne Moody from Global Awakening Ministries, that confirmed an important next step for us. We were to leave our old home in Münchenstein and move into the house of prayer (hop) Basel.

Some extracts from the prophecy:

“I see the old has passed away…the new is here. I see it rising…it’s like the crest of a wave. You are on the top of the crest…right before the wave breaks…“

God had prepared our hearts for a long time regarding leaving the old and for expecting something new to happen in our ministry.For more than a decade we waited weekly before God, in worship and prayer, for the fulfilment of His promises of revival over our nations.

The picture of this blue wave has been with us ever since. Through the prophecy, we also knew the first “new” step meant that we were to leave the old building.

The prophecy goes on to say,
“I hear the Lord saying: you have got to get out of that building…holding on to that building is holding on to an old idea…an old thing…the Lord is doing a new thing!”

So in March 2019 we moved as Oikos to hop Basel, after 20 years of residence in Münchenstein.

Hop Basel was launched in 2012 by Bernhard and Claudia Mössner. As co-pastors of Oikos International Church, they had been carrying this vision of establishing a house of prayer for years.

Although we believe our move to hop Basel is only temporary, it has been a step toward a renewal for our congregation, in coming together as God’s family. Our relationship with hop has deepened and our common vision has been strengthened.

Before Covid 19, the hop Basel cafeteria created an ideal atmosphere to draw closer and deepen relationships.

The prophecy continues,
“The Lord says I am bringing the family closer together…deep, deep, deep family relationships….before the new breaks in.”

We believe that God is preparing hearts and pulling His children together in healed relationships, in order to become carriers of His presence and stewards of the next move of God upon the Earth.

“You are strategic, not only for Basel, but in some ways for all of Switzerland. You will come together and unite with other ‘fires of His Presence’ which will come from over all Switzerland…”

Our hearts long for this fire, for this new outpouring of His Spirit over our country, our city and our churches. We hold fast to the prophetic word until the day dawns, and until God’s Spirit breaks upon this world like a mighty wave.

OIC Missions

Pastor Selim Sali Alijevic

Pastor Selim is leading a big church among the Roma population in Serbia with about 1000 members.
Larwin and Silvia visited Selim and the church twice. There is much potential for church growth and the building of God’s kingdom among this people group in Serbia.

Sewing School in India

In 1983 Larwin and Silvia Nickelson set up a sewing school in the town of Kolar Gold Fields in South India. This allows women access to a free education, and to earn a small salary. After one year of training they are able to find jobs as tailors, and to take care of themselves. More and more women with Hindu or Muslim background have also developed a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

Ofer & Chris Amitai

Ofer Amitai & Chris are pastors of the Church of El-ROII in Jerusalem. They also head the “Israel Prayer and Training Center” in Jerusalem. Ofer speaks outside of Israel in churches and in conferences, promoting prayer and teaching about God’s heart for the restoration of His chosen people. Chris conducts prayer meetings, teaches, and creates educational material for children in their community. Ofer and Chris have two adult children.

Stiftung Schleife

Stiftung Schleife supports and encourages individuals, Christian organizations and other groups. Their special events (seminars, conferences, counselling, prophecy, leadership & coaching, children & youth ministry, music and art) are based on fundamental Christian values and relate to God in a practical way to find solutions. The main focus is training in the practical, professional and spiritual realm.
Leaders: Andreas & Stephanie Keller

Dr. Jeyaseelan

Pastors Jey and Lizy Jeyaseelan are leading an Apostolic network in India, called Victory Churches. They have established many churches throughout North India and Punjab, they also conduct evangelistic crusades among unreached tribes in Northern India. They established a large ministry among the millions of slum residents in Delhi with schools, orphanages and programs to feed the poor. Lizy Is Larwin’s older sister.

Monovah Nickelson

Monovah Nickelson is the brother of Larwin. He leads the missionary work in South India that his father began over 50 years ago. At present, the ministry includes at least 30 churches, a Bible college, sewing schools for underprivileged women, and an orphanage.

Wir sind eine Gemeinde-Familie in der Leute eine geistliche Heimat finden können, in der sie geheilt und in ihrer Berufung freigesetzt werden können.

Du bist immer willkommen.

WER WIR SIND

OIKOS 

Oikos ist Griechisch und bedeutet «Haus» oder «Familie». Wir sind ein Ort, wo Menschen in der Geborgenheit einer geistlichen Familie geheilt und in ihrer Berufung freigesetzt werden dürfen. Einheit entsteht nicht zuletzt da, wo man zueinander offen ist und wo Platz für Stärken wie auch für Schwächen ist. Wir alle leben aus Seiner Gnade und nicht aus Leistung.

INTERNATIONAL 

In der Oikos Gemeinde sind rund 20 Nationen vertreten. Wir betrachten die gelebte Einheit über Länder und kulturelle Grenzen hinweg als grosse Bereicherung. Gastredner aus aller Welt sind Teil dieser Vielfalt . Die Predigten sind Englisch und Deutsch und werden nach Bedarf in andere Sprachen übersetzt. 

 

CHURCH 

Wir sind eine christliche evangelikale Freikirche und gehören zur Schweizerischen Evangelischen Allianz (SEA). Das Erlösungswerk von Jesus Christus am Kreuz ist die Grundlage unseres Glaubensbekenntnisses.  

Need Prayer?
We’ll Pray For You!

Was wir glauben

Das Glaubensbekenntnis

Ich glaube an Gott,
den Vater, den Allmächtigen,
den Schöpfer des Himmels und der Erde.

Und an Jesus Christus,
seinen eingeborenen Sohn, unsern Herrn,
empfangen durch den Heiligen Geist,
geboren von der Jungfrau Maria,
gelitten unter Pontius Pilatus,
gekreuzigt, gestorben und begraben,
hinabgestiegen in das Reich des Todes,
am dritten Tage auferstanden von den Toten,
aufgefahren in den Himmel;
er sitzt zur Rechten Gottes,
des allmächtigen Vaters;
von dort wird er kommen,
zu richten die Lebenden und die Toten.

Ich glaube an den Heiligen Geist,
die heilige christliche Kirche,
Gemeinschaft der Heiligen,
Vergebung der Sünden,
Auferstehung der Toten
und das ewige Leben.
Amen.

Unsere Leiter

Pastoren

Larwin & Silvia Nickelson

Larwin und Silvia sind die Gründer der Oikos International Church.

Larwin kommt ursprünglich aus Indien. In 1981 absolvierte er die Ausbildung zum Pastor am „ Seattle Bible College“in Seattle,USA.

Silvia ist Schweizerin. Sie und Larwin lernten sich 1983 in Indien kennen, wo sie nach ihrer Heirat einige Jahre wohnten und zusammen mit Larwins Vater im geistlichen Dienst mitwirkten.

1990 zogen sie nach Basel und begannen, Gemeinden in der Schweiz zu gründen. Larwin ist auch Pastor der Oikos Tamil Church, welche unter den Tamilischen Christen in verschiedenen Kantonen Gemeinden gegründet hat.

Larwin und Silvia sind Eltern von 3 erwachsenen Kindern und Grosseltern von 2 Enkeln.
Michaela & Andy Meier
Andy und Michaela haben beide ein brennendes Herz dafür, dass jeder Einzelne, die Gemeinde, die Stadt und auch unser Land von Gottes Gegenwart berührt, geheilt und verändert wird. Beide lehren, predigen und ermutigen gern, um den Leib Christi zu stärken.

Michaela setzt sich auch für die administrativen und organisatorischen Belange der Gemeinde ein und übersetzt gern.

Als Leiter eines Heimverbandes hat Andy eine spezielle Berufung für Leiter in der Schweiz.
Mandy & Keith Muckett
Keith und Mandy kommen aus England und gehören seit 2001 zur Oikos Familie. Mandy ist Autorin und eine Ermutigerin mit einem Herz für Frauen. Sie leitet auch die Saphira Frauengruppe.

Keith leitet die Jakobus 1 Männergruppe und den Mediendienst. Er sieht seinen Arbeitsplatz als Hauptmissionsfeld.

Nach über 30 Jahren Ehe haben Keith und Mandy den Wunsch, dass Ehen geheilt werden. Sie geben Kurse zum Thema: “Wachsen in sexueller Intimität in der Ehe”
Dirk & Eszter Stöhr
Schon seit viele Jahren unterstützen Dirk und Eszter die Gemeindeleitung im Hintergrund. Darüber hinaus engagieren sie sich in Lobpreis, Kinderarbeit und der Kombination von beidem.

Unsere Vision

ERWECKUNG
Wir sehnen uns danach, Gottes Herrlichkeit in unserer Mitte zu haben. Als Träger Seiner Gegenwart soll die Welt durch uns Seine Liebe erfahren.

 

TRANSFORMATION

In Einheit wollen wir Gottes Wille und Seine Gegenwart in allem suchen, was wir als Gemeinde tun. Wir möchten Gott erlauben, uns in unserem Glauben und Charakter in Reife zu führen: von Waisen zu Söhnen- von Söhnen zu Vätern.

 

Wir verstehen unseren Auftrag als eine apostolische Gemeinde, die Teil des globalen Wirkens Gottes in dieser Zeit ist. Gott baut Sein Reich hier auf Erden durch verschiedene Gefässe und Dienste. Die lokale Gemeinde ist eines davon. Darüber hinaus brennt in uns das Verlangen, dass die Schweiz und das Dreiländereck von einer mächtigen geistlichen Erweckung erfasst werden und dass Gott Seinen Geist nochmals auf "alles Fleisch" ausgiessen wird, so wie es in der Bibel verheissen wird

 

Diesen Auftrag können wir als Gemeinde nicht allein erfüllen. Deshalb gründeten wir im Jahr 2004 die Stiftung b/e/t/e , um diese Vision über unsere lokale Gemeinde hinaus zu tragen. Gemeinsam mit dem grösseren Leib Christi möchten wir durch jährliche Gebetsanlässe und Konferenzen ein Gefäss schaffen, wo Gott uns Sein Herz für Einheit, Transformation und Erweckung in unseren Ländern offenbart.

PROPHETISCHE STORYLINE

In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten wurden wir immer wieder mit prophetischen Worten ermutigt, die uns als lokale Gemeinde Weisung gaben.

Im 2.Petrus 1,19 steht: „Und so halten wir nun fest an dem völlig gewissen prophetischen Wort, und ihr tut gut daran, darauf zu achten als auf ein Licht, das an einem dunklen Ort scheint, bis der Tag anbricht und der Morgenstern aufgeht in euren Herzen.“

Im Juni 2018 sprach der Herr zu uns als Gemeinde durch ein prophetisches Wort von Joanne Moody von Global Awakening Ministries, welches für uns einen wichtigen nächsten Schritt bestätigte. Wir würden von unserem alten Domizil in Münchenstein in das house of prayer( hop) Basel umziehen.

Hier ein paar Ausschnitte aus der Prophetie:

„Ich sehe, wie das Alte vergangen ist..das Neue ist hier..ich sehe, wie es hervorkommt...es ist wie die Schaumkrone einer Welle. Ihr befindet euch jetzt oben auf dieser Krone, kurz bevor die Welle herunter bricht...“

Gott bereitete unsere Herzen während vielen Jahren vor, wo wir im „Warten vor Gott“ Neues erwarteten und für Erweckung für die Nationen beteten.Gott bereitete unsere Herzen während vielen Jahren vor, wo wir im „Warten vor Gott“ Neues erwarteten und für Erweckung für die Nationen beteten.

Das Bild dieser blauen Welle begleitet uns seither stark. Wir wussten, dass der erste „ neue“ Schritt für uns bedeutete, unser „altes“ Gemeindegebäude zu verlassen.

Die Prophetie geht weiter:
„Ich höre den Herrn sagen: Ihr müsst das alte Gebäude verlassen...daran festzuhalten bedeutet, am Alten festzuhalten, aber der Herr tut etwas Neues.“

Im März 2019 zogen wir ins hop Basel, nachdem die OIC für 20 Jahren ihr Domizil in Münchenstein gehabt hatte.

Hop Basel Das hop wurde 2012 durch Bernhard und Claudia Mössner ins Leben gerufen, welche diese Vision bereits trugen, als sie noch Co- Pastoren in der OIC waren.

So war dieser Umzug ins hop, obschon wir glauben er ist nur vorübergehend, für unsere Gemeinde ein erneuter Schritt des Zusammenrückens als Familie Gottes. Beziehungen mit dem hop durften vertieft werden. Die gemeinsame Vision wurde gestärkt.

Vor Covid 19 schuf das hop eine ideale Atmosphäre, um sich näher zu kommen und Beziehungen zu vertiefen.

Die Prophetie sagt weiter:
„ Der Herr sagt, ich bringe die Familie näher zusammen...tiefe, tiefe, tiefe Familienbeziehungen....bevor das Neue hereinbricht..“

Wir glauben, dass Gott die Herzen vorbereitet und Seine Kinder in geheilte Beziehungen bringt, damit sie Träger Seiner Gegenwart werden und die nächste Bewegung Gottes auf dieser Welt begleiten und mittragen.

„Ihr seid strategisch, nicht nur für Basel, sondern in mancher Weise für die ganze Schweiz. Ihr werdet euch mit anderen „Brandherden von Gottes Gegenwart” vereinen“, welche über die ganze Schweiz kommen werden.“

Unser Herz sehnt sich nach diesem Feuer..nach dieser neuen Ausgiessung Seines Geistes über unserem Land, unserer Stadt und unseren Gemeinden. Wir halten an dem prophetischn Wort fest, bis der Tag anbricht und bis Gottes Geist wie eine gewaltige Welle auf diese Welt hereinbrechen wird.

Mission

Stiftung Schleife

Die Stiftung Schleife unterstützt und fördert Menschen, christliche Werke sowie andere Gruppierungen. Die Angebote (Seminare, Konferenzen, Seelsorge, Prophetie, Leiterschaft & Coaching, Kinder- Jugendarbeit, Musik & Kunst) basieren auf christlichen Grundwerten und beziehen Gott ganz praktisch in Lösungsansätze mit ein. Im Mittelpunkt steht das Zurüsten im praktischen, beruflichen und geistlichen Bereich. Foto: Andreas & Stephanie Keller, Leiter.
Leaders: Andreas & Stephanie Keller

Ofer & Chris Amitai

Ofer & Chris Amitai sind Pastoren der Gemeinde El-Roii in Jersusalem. Zusätzlich sind sie Leiter des "Israel Prayer und Training Centers" in Jerusalem. Ofer spricht auch ausserhalb Israels in Gemeinden und an Konferenzen und fördert so das Gebet und die Lehre über das Herz Gottes für die Wiederherstellung Seines erwählten Volkes. Chris leitet Gebetsversammlungen, lehrt und entwirft Lehrmaterial für Kinder in ihrer Gemeinde. Ofer und Chris haben zwei erwachsene Kinder.

Monovah Nickelson

Monovah Nickelson ist der Bruder von Larwin. Er leitet in Südindien das missionarische Werk, das sein Vater vor über 50 Jahren begonnen hat. Dazu gehören heute mindestens 30 Gemeinden, eine Bibelschule, Nähschulen für unterprivilegierte Frauen und ein Waisenhaus.

Dr. Jeyaseelan

Die Pastoren Jey und Lizy Jeyaseelan leiten in Delhi, Nordindien ein Apostolisches Netzwerk namens Victory Churches. Sie etablierten viele Gemeinden in NordIndien und Punjab und erreichen durch Heilungs-Evangelisationen viele der unerreichten Stämme in Nordindien. In Delhi gründeten sie unter den Slumbewohnern ein grosses Werk mit Schulen, Waisenhäusern und verteilen Nahrung und Lebensmittel an die Ärmsten. Lizy ist die ältere Schwester von Larwin

Nähschule in Indien

Im Jahr 1983 gründeten Larwin und Silvia Nickelson eine Nähschule in der Ortschaft Kolar Gold Fields im Süden von Indien. Diese ermöglicht Frauen eine kostenlose Ausbildung, sowie ein kleines Salär. Nach einer einjährigen Ausbildung sind sie imstande, eine Arbeit als Näherin zu finden und sich selber zu versorgen. Immer mehr Frauen mit hinduistischem oder muslimischem Hintergrund finden dadurch zu einer persönlichen Beziehung zu Jesus Christus.

Pastor Selim Sali Alijevic

Pastor Selim leitet eine grosse Gemeinde in Serbien unter der Roma Bevölkerungsgruppe mit ca 1000 Mitgliedern. Larwin und Silvia besuchten die Gemeinde von Selim zwei Mal. Es besteht dort viel Potential für Gemeindewachstum und für das Bauen des Reiches Gottes, vor allem unter der grossen Roma Bevölkerung von Serbien.